Operating muscles

Operating muscles

Consciously we can control the way we fill and empty our lungs. We can decide which muscles we use when we breathe.

There are three basic groups of muscles that operate our lungs.

1 diaphragm muscles – bottom
2 ribcage muscles – middle
3 chest muscles – top

The goal is to utilize efficiently our lungs capacity and allow good oxygen absorption into the blood stream.

At the top part of the lungs, there is high concentration of the exchange bubbles. The high concentration of exchange bubbles, allows relatively quick absorption of oxygen. As we go lower down the lungs, the density of the exchange bubbles is reduced and the absorption of oxygen is relatively slower.

It is wise to distribute the absorption of oxygen in all of the lungs and by that we can avoid overloading one area. We also want to keep as many exchange bubbles active, so that they don’t lose functionality.

When we use the diaphragm muscle to inflate and deflate our lungs, we make sure that air gets all they way to the bottom of the lungs. This ensures better distribution of absorption and reduces overload. Diaphragm breathing is also called Belly-Breathing, Abdomen-Breathing or Stomach-Breathing.

We can also use our ribcage muscles to inflate / deflate the lungs from the sides.

Activating the chest muscles to inflate / deflate the lungs results in pulling / pushing the lungs from the top.

A very efficient way of breathing is a “Full 3 stage Yogic breathing”, where all 3 sections of the lungs are utilized to the fullest. First bringing air to the lower part of the lungs, where there is slower absorption and then inflating the middle and upper part of the lungs. Deflating in reverse order.

Leave a Reply